Skip to content

Zara Sale: Disappointing, but worth a visit

January 13, 2011

No girl wants to miss a Zara sale. That’s apparent from the crowded store and the queue at the cash counter. But my weekend visit to the Zara store at Palladium (Phoenix Mills, Mumbai) made me wonder why people were shopping like no tomorrow.

Zara sale shopping There were racks and racks of tshirts and casual wear, and I have enough of those already. Even in the Zara Woman range, there were very few worthwhile “womanly” blouses, shirts and tops. A number of printed tunic-style shirts I spotted were what you will get for half the price at a local or Indian brand store. A rack of formal shirts behind the cash counter (Rs 1190 each) was overpriced. However, there was a sizeable range of trousers and pants.

Unfortunately, when I found something I liked, it wasn’t available in my size (but I don’t blame Zara for that).

And then the size inconsistency. So while a black-and-white dress I liked in size S was too big for me, another dress in size S was just right. I know that the right size often depends on the garment’s cut, but I’ve experienced this often with Zara clothes, including skirts. I didn’t see this size inconsistency at Mango.

A relative who had visited Zara last month told me that several tshirts that seemed to fit her well had very loose shoulders and made her look quite awkward. I noticed the same with a tshirt I tried.

Overall experience: Disappointing, but there are still some great steals!

Despite all this, I did manage to find some clothes that fit me well and were wearable. My goodies: multi-purpose dress and skirt, and a somewhat-stylish tshirt.

  1. Printed dress: It gives the leopard print look, though it’s not. Luckily not made from wool, so I can wear it even in warmer weather. 🙂
  2. Printed brown tshirt: With net and buttons on the neckline.
  3. Grey skirt: The lace trimming adds a trendy touch.

Zara printed dress Zara brown tshirt Zara grey skirt

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 11:56 am

    I like that grey skirt the best :).. even that dress is nice. I was at Paladium on Monday – it was so crowded! I skipped the store 😛

    • January 13, 2011 12:07 pm

      Thanks– the grey skirt is a much-needed addition to my wardrobe. The store is usually crowded during sales, but sometimes I really wonder why!

  2. Ivich permalink
    January 13, 2011 3:07 pm

    Disappointing is a kind word. I was appaled with some of the stuff that was on sale especially when it comes to t-shirts. Hardly any dresses. Best for bottoms. Some of the t-shirts looked like Fashion Street maal.

    • January 17, 2011 1:23 pm

      @Ivich– LOL. I was disappointed with the practically non-existent dress range. Didn’t have time to try our trousers/ pants, and I don’t need them soon anyways.

Leave a comment