Skip to content

Announcing the Chic Cleanup Project

February 4, 2012

I have an embarrassing confession to make—I have too many clothes. And too many bags and shoes and jewellery.

From pants to night wear, I have them all. But most of all, I have a tonne of casual clothes accumulated over the years. Some chic things I bought during my trip to Spain last year (bags, belts, makeup):

Sometime last year, I told myself I couldn’t really buy any new clothes because I had no space for them on my cupboard. So shopping became an issue. I came back empty-handed from almost every trip to the mall. I’m not really a shopaholic and I don’t buy on impulse, so that didn’t bother me much. But I wanted the cute skirt and the feminine blouse once in a while. And most importantly, I wanted to be up-to-date.

How can fashionista be dress trendy if I have don’t have new clothes to experiment with?

So late 2011, I decided it was time for drastic measures. I had to change my approach to my wardrobe, my shopping, my fashion, my style, and life in general. And the bottomline was:

I needed to get rid of my old clothes and my old life.

And so the cleanup began. I have taken a pledge that’s something like:

  • I will purge my wardrobe of all the “bad” and unnecessary clothes
  • I will adopt a minimal approach to fashion, styling and my life.
  • I will complete this by June 30, 2012.

While typing this, I feel that this does seem a bit self-absorbed – doing a cleanup because I want to be trendy. But it’s now become more than that. It’s about freeing myself from the mess I see everyday and freeing my mind from the “too much” in my life.

Call it declutter, call it taking the Zen approach, call it what you will. It’s ultimately a thorough cleanse of my life and I’m determined to achieve it.

So here’s what I will be doing in the next few months:

  • Throwing or giving away clothes I don’t want or need
  • Shop as less as possible (been kinda successful with this so far)
  • Discovering what and how much I really need in my wardrobe (do I really need 15 tshirts, for instance?)
  • Adopting a “system” to make my life clutter-free and minimalistic
  • Blogging about my experiences and findings!

All I ask, dear readers, is encouragement, support and your tips.

Let the chic (and crazy) cleanup begin!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2012 12:18 pm

    All the best! Good decision! I just did that last december and believe me it feels so light! In fact, I had read in an article something which went like “If you want to be really well-dressed all the time, remove an item from your wardrobe as soon as you add one in!”. Trimming wardrobes and possessions really makes sense. I have decided to do this “detoxification” every June and December.

    • February 5, 2012 12:34 pm

      @Dhanishta- Thanks for this! I need to get rid of more than one item every time I buy one though! That’s why almost no shopping over the next few months, only what I absolutely need. Will write about that soon. Any more tips would be appreciated! 🙂

  2. February 6, 2012 9:29 pm

    Really nice! All the best on your project! 😀

    • February 8, 2012 2:43 pm

      Thanks, Tanveer!

  3. Hema permalink
    February 7, 2012 12:09 pm

    For me, giving away old clothes is the biggest hassle. There’s only so much you can give the maid and a lot of western clothes are just inappropriate (or too big, in my case) for giving away. But if you have salwar kameezes or any such slightly conservative clothes (long skirts, tees, sweaters, jackets, some tops…), there is an organisation called Goonj that you can look up. They make sure that weather and culture appropriate clothes reach the right people and don’t arbitarily dump old clothes on orphanages the way some organisations do… http://goonj.org/ and http://www.facebook.com/goonj.org

    • February 8, 2012 2:42 pm

      @Hema- Thanks for this! I’ve heard about Goonj, but more than anything I want to just throw some stuff away. A lot of it is totally out of fashion and too ridiculous to give someone (remember the late 90s and early 20s obsession with lycra and those kinda fabrics?).

  4. February 14, 2012 5:21 am

    Good luck for the cleanup project ! A tried-and-true advice : invest in basic pieces. They’re always in fashion, and there are zillion ways to mix them up. New look without new clothes, haha 😀

Leave a Reply

